» Return to UAF News and Events

Rural Alaska Honors Institute to host graduation

Submitted by Marmian Grimes
Phone: 907-474-7902


The University of Alaska Fairbanks Rural Alaska Honors Institute will honor 65 RAHI students at a graduation ceremony on Wednesday, July 8, at 1 p.m. in the Schaible Auditorium with an ice cream social to follow at 2:30 p.m. in the Great Hall in the Fine Arts Complex.

The students participating in this year's program come from 43 communities across Alaska. They spent six weeks living in UAF residence halls, building their academic skills and learning firsthand about college life. They earned up to 10 college credits.

Organized in 1983 at the request of the Alaska Federation of Natives, RAHI aims to help increase college success for rural and Alaska Native students. Hundreds of RAHI graduates have gone on to earn graduate, baccalaureate and associate degrees. Many have joined Alaska's professional workforce and many more are pursuing postsecondary education.

Among the graduates are participants in RAHI II, Next Step, a program that allows students to do research alongside UAF scientists, and two interns with a program funded by the National Science Foundation's Long Term Ecological Research program.

Following graduation, three of the students will fly to New Hampshire to participate in three weeks of academic study with the Science & Mathematics through Research Training Project. Another 10 students will fly to Barrow to work with scientists from the Barrow Arctic Science Consortium and 7 others will take video cameras home to their communities to complete a film project for possible premiere at the Alaska House in New York.

RAHI sponsors include several UAF departments, New York Life, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co., Wells Fargo, Rasmuson Foundation, the Alaska INBRE program and The Boeing Corporation.

CONTACT: Denise Wartes, RAHI director, at 907-474-6886 or 800-478-6886 or via e-mail at fyrahi@uaf.edu.

RAHI Class of 2009
Jerica Aamodt, Barrow
Marlena Acord, Wasilla
Gordon Ahnangnatoguk Jr., Point Hope
Madelyn Alvanna-Stimpfle, Nome
Sarah Anderson, Port Heiden
Dianne Arce, Sitka
Charlene Berlin, Kasigluk
Vanessa Booth, Craig
Renee Cheemuk, Kotlik
Marissa Chingliak, Akiachak
Melody Chong, Kodiak
Christy Crow, North Pole
Nadia Duffy, Russian Mission
Nicole Fennimore, Galena
Amanda Fisher, Delta Junction
Samantha Foss, Pedro Bay
Laura Fox, Takotna
Rachel Funk, Ketchikan
Paige Goneau, Tok
Kimberly Greenway, Fairbanks
Thomas Hammersland-Torres, Ketchikan
Kenlynn Henry, Eek
Caroline Hoover, Kasigluk
Jerilyn Hunt, Emmonak
Nellie Iyapana, North Pole
Mariah Jackson, Point Baker
Heidi Jacobsen, Sand Point
Corey Joseph, Kwigillingok
Felicia Kayotuk, Galena
Jayna Kelly, Pilot Station
Danielle Kinneeveak, Point Hope
Hannah Knapp, Big Lake
Rachel Kokrine, North Pole
Katrina Kruger, Anvik
Marceline Lee, Selawik
Willow Leedy, Unalakleet
Concepcion Melovidov, St. Paul Island
Teressa Muller, Larsen Bay
Raven Mustafoski, Galena
Timothy Nick, Napaskiak
Priscilla Pavilla, Tuntutuliak
Mary Petluska, Eek
Lizbeth Piazza, Dillingham
Nicole Polty, Pilot Station
Katie Roseberry, Barrow
Jessica Schneider, Akiachak
Joanne Semaken, Unalakleet
Ian Sia, Bethel
Janice Smith, Gustavus
Ashley Webb, Fairbanks
Melana Webb, Slana
DeShaun Whiskey, Barrow
Samantha Wilson, Craig

RAHI II, Next Step
Kate Akpik, Barrow
Rachel DeWilde ,Fairbanks
Stephanie Fox, Kodiak
Michael Kowalski, Fairbanks
Wilfred Kozevnikoff, Fairbanks
Benjamin Renshaw, Healy
Timothy Sanner, Pedro Bay
Vera Simmonds, Barrow
Whitney Walker, Bethel
Craig-David Wood, Fairbanks

LTER interns
Kelsie Maslen, Kotzebue
Logan Richter, Edna Bay