» Return to UAF News and Events

KUAC TV brings home Emmy gold for the third year in a row

Submitted by Tammy Tragis
Phone: 907-474-1890


Photo caption below.
Photo by Tracey Johnston
Claudia Clark is pictured with her Emmy and the Emmys awarded to Aaron Elterman and Deb Lawton for the KUAC TV production of "AlaskaOne Image Spots".
Download image
KUAC TV producers added to their gold cache over the weekend, bringing home television's top honors for the third consecutive year.

Producers Claudia Clark and Deb Lawton and writer/editor Aaron Elterman won an Emmy Award for their KUAC TV production of "AlaskaOne Image Spots," where viewers share their commitment to public television. The trio received the award at the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Northwest Chapter award ceremony held June 7 in Seattle. Clark attended the event.

"Winning three years in a row is an honor and a tribute to the talent found at KUAC," said Clark. "I'm so proud of our television production team and the level of programming they unfailingly produce."

KUAC TV, part of the University of Alaska Fairbanks, received three Emmy nominations this year. In addition to "AlaskaOne Image Spots," Emmy-award winner Michael Letzring was nominated for his production and editing work on the St. Elias Tectonics and Erosion Project, also known as STEEP, created for the UAF Geophysical Institute. KUAC's third Emmy nomination went to editor Aaron Elterman, Lawton and cameraman Michael Letzring for a story about the University of Alaska International Polar Year.

This is the fourth consecutive year KUAC has earned Emmy-award nominations. Elterman, now a three-time Emmy-award winner, was honored last year in the individual achievement category. Letzring and Lawton were each honored last year with an Emmy for the KUAC TV production, "The 49th Star," which tells the story of Alaska's struggle for statehood. Elterman and Letzring brought home an Emmy in 2006 for a promotional spot for "The 49th Star." KUAC was also nominated in 2006 for its travel series, "Anywhere, Alaska," and in 2005 for its Alaska heath series, "Vital Signs."

The Northwest Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences serves television professionals in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Alaska and Montana. The complete list of Emmy recipients and other academy news and information is available from the academy's website, at natasnw.org/awards/.