» Return to UAF News and Events

Rural Alaska Honors Institute to host graduation ceremony

Submitted by Denise Wartes
Phone: 907-474-6886


The University of Alaska Fairbanks Rural Alaska Honors Institute will honor 47 RAHI students at a graduation ceremony on Wed., July 9, at 1 p.m. in the Schaible Auditorium with an ice cream social to follow at 2:30 p.m. in the Great Hall in the Fine Arts Complex.

RAHI alumnus Ed Alexander of Fort Yukon will give the keynote address. Alexander earned a bachelor's degree from UAF and is now a high school humanities teacher in his hometown.

The students participating in this year's program come from 31 communities across Alaska. They spent six weeks living in UAF residence halls, building their academic skills and learning firsthand about college life. They earned up to 10 college credits.

Organized in 1983 at the request of the Alaska Federation of Natives, RAHI aims to help increase college success for rural Alaska Native students. Hundreds of RAHI graduates have gone on to earn graduate, baccalaureate and associate degrees. Many have joined Alaska's professional workforce and many more are pursuing postsecondary education.

Among the graduates are participants in RAHI II, Next Step, a program that allows students to do genetics research alongside UAF scientists, and an intern with a program funded by the National Science Foundation's Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research.

RAHI courses are funded through several UAF departments, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co., Wells Fargo, the U.S. Department of Agriculture and The Boeing Company.

CONTACT: Denise Wartes, RAHI director, at 907-474-6886 or 800-478-6886 or via e-mail at fyrahi@uaf.edu.

RAHI class of 2008

Andrea Alstro, St. Mary's
Cheri Alstrom, Bethel
Panteleimon Askoak, Russian Mission
Chalisa Attla, Hughes
Grady Baumfalk, Nenana
Adrienne Beans, Mountain Village
Yvonne Bell, Hooper Bay
Tatiana Changsak, Russian Mission
Gordon Davis, Galena
Austen Erickson, Unalakleet
Emerie Fairbanks, Bethel
Marina Fiala, Kodiak
Stephanie Fox, Kodiak
Hazel Freytag, Unalakleet
Emmy Hammond, Chicken
Kyle Hardin, Dillingham
Jarid Hope, Barrow
Sarah Hopson, Anaktuvuk Pass
Andrea Joseph, Tuntutuliak
Nicole Kanayurak, Barrow
Samantha Kanrilak, Tununak
Michelle Kavairlook, Koyuk
Daniel Kokrine, North Pole
Barton Koonooka, Gambell
Christopher Liu, Bethel
Priscia Memeo, Point Hope
Daniel Orr, Bethel
Shayna Patkotak, Barrow
Lloyd Pikok, Point Lay
Katrina Rasmussen, Wasilla
Tasha Redfox, Mountain Village
Deanna Rodgers, Bethel
Zachary Rohan, Barrow
Victoria Sinnok, Shishmaref
Albert Smith, Selawik
Lacy Squartsoff, Port Lions
Allison Wasuli, Kotzebue
Lillian Weber, Anaktuvuk Pass
Karrin Wittenberg, Galena
Alfred Wright, Manley Hot Springs
Daphne Attla, Fairbanks
Robin Congdon, Barrow
Nicole Corwin, Barrow
Shelly Dewilde, Fairbanks
Cori Eide, Nome
Erin Nelson, Kotzebue
Whitney Walker, Sitka
Shaunna Takak, Shaktoolik

» Return to UAF News and Events