» Return to UAF News and Events

Six honored for contributions to science

Submitted by Marmian Grimes
Phone: 907-474-7902


The American Association for the Advancement of Science Arctic Division and the Alaska Chapter of Sigma Xi will honor six people for their contributions to arctic science research, education and outreach Monday, Sept. 15, 2008 at a 6 p.m. reception in the Westmark Gold Room. The reception is part of the AAAS Arctic Division's annual conference.

The AAAS Arctic Division Conference is one of the nation's largest gatherings of arctic scientists. Sigma Xi is an international professional organization for researchers.

Following is a list of the honorees:

Author and UAF professor emeritus Neil Davis--AAAS Arctic Division and Sigma Xi will honor Davis for support of arctic science and excellence in bringing science to the public.

UAF media relations manager Carla Browning--Sigma Xi will recognize Browning for her work communicating and perpetuating arctic science to the public.

UAF professor and Alaska Statewide High School Science Symposium director Gary Laursen--AAAS Arctic Division will recognize Laursen for his service to secondary science, technology, engineering and mathematics students.

West Valley High School science teachers Greg Kahoe and Travis Stagg--Sigma Xi will recognize Kahoe, who teaches chemistry, and Stagg, who teaches physics, for their work preparing their students for the rigors of research.

Golden Key International Honour Society District 8 director Nikki Laird--Sigma Xi will recognize Laird for her support of graduate students and for linking those students with Sigma Xi and its members.

CONTACT: Larry Duffy, AAAS Arctic Division executive secretary, at 907-474-7525. Sigma Xi Alaska Chapter president Gary Laursen at 907-474-6295. Marmian Grimes, UAF public information officer, at 907-474-7902 or 907-460-4750.