» Return to UAF News and Events

Foster to be named 2009 distinguished alumnus

Submitted by Marmian Grimes
Phone: 907-474-7902


Photo caption below.
Photo courtesy of UAF Alumni Association
Richard Foster
Download image

The University of Alaska Fairbanks Alumni Association will honor state Rep. Richard Foster of Nome with the 2009 Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Foster, who has served 11 terms in the Alaska House of Representatives, will receive the award at a Sept. 25 luncheon at the Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge. The event is part of the alumni association's annual reunion, scheduled for Sept. 24 - 26.

Foster was born and raised in Nome. He is the second of four children and the first in his family to attend college. He graduated from the University of Alaska in Fairbanks in 1968 with a bachelor's degree in business administration. Foster has held a variety of public service positions in Alaska, beginning with his involvement on the board of directors for Sitnasuak Native Corporation, the Bering Straits Native Corporation, the Nome City Council and the Nome school board. He was elected to state House of Representatives in 1988. He served as the majority whip from 2002 to 2008 and is the co-chairman of the House Finance Committee.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award was first given in 1962 and recognizes service to UAF, business or professional accomplishment, and distinguished human service.

The association will also honor nine other alumni during the awards luncheon.

The 2009 Alumni Achievement Awards for Business and Professional Excellence will go to George Gordon, '62, CEO of Utility Services of Alaska; Greg Galik, president of Aadland Flint Marketing; and Helvi Sandvik, '86, CEO of NANA Corporation.

The Alumni Achievement Award for University Support will go to Joan Braddock '77, '83, '89, dean emerita of the College of Natural Science and Mathematics, and Deanna Dieringer '87, director of UAF?s financial aid department.

Bart LeBon, '75, executive vice president of commercial lending at Mt. McKinley Bank, and Terrence Cole, '76, '78, director of the UAF Office of Public History, will each receive an Alumni Achievement Award for Community Support.

Jack Wilbur, CEO of Design Alaska and president of the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce, is this year's winner of the William R. Cashen Service Award. The award recognizes outstanding service to the alumni association.

Roland "Rollie" Snodgrass, '32, former state director of agriculture, will be the recipient of the Lenhart J.H. Grothe Resource Award. The Grothe posthumously honors an alumnus for contributions in the resource, mining or agricultural fields.

The awards luncheon is just one of many activities scheduled as part of the 2009 alumni reunion. Other events include a book signing by alumni authors, alumni night at The Pub and lighting of the Starvation Gulch bonfires. For a full schedule and to register, or to purchase luncheon tickets, visit www.uaf.edu/alumni or call 907-474-7081. The deadline to reserve a seat at the luncheon is Tuesday, Sept. 22 at 5 p.m.

CONTACT: Joe Hayes, UAF Alumni Association director, at 907-474-7081 or via e-mail at fyalum@uaf.edu. Marmian Grimes, UAF public information officer, at 907-474-7902 or via e-mail at marmian.grimes@alaska.edu.