» Return to UAF News and Events

UAF to induct six to Nanook Hall of Fame

Submitted by Cheri Renson
Phone: 907-474-5114


The University of Alaska Fairbanks will induct six people into its Nanook Hall of Fame during a ceremony and brunch Saturday, Sept. 26 at 10:30 a.m. in the Wood Center Ballroom. The brunch is $25 per person and is open to the public. Tickets are available in advance by calling the UAF Alumni Association at 907-474-7081, visiting www.uaf.edu/alumni or at the door.

Following are the inductees:

Carole Rollison Warner", the first female rifle All-American at a time and in a sport that was dominated by male shooters. Warner shot for UAF from 1960 to 1964.
Everad F. Horton", the namesake for the Nanooks' home range, the E.F. Horton Rifle Range. Horton coached the UAF rifle team for seven years (1960-67).
Mike Lessley", a forward for the Nanook basketball team from 1971 to 1973. He is one of just 14 players to eclipse the 1,000-point mark and ranks 13th and 7th amongst the program's all-time scoring and rebounding leaders, respectively.
Tavis MacMillan, a member of the Nanook hockey team from 1990 to 1994 and part of the team's coaching staff from 1997 to 2003 and 2004 to 2007.
Joe Nava, who shot for the Nanook rifle team from 1962 to 1965 and spent 20 years working for the UAF Institute of Arctic Biology.
William R. Wood, who served as University of Alaska president for 13 years (1960-1973) and is recognized for his considerable support of UAF athletics and his contributions to the Alaska community.

CONTACT: Cheri Renson, UAF events coordinator, at 907-474-5114 or cheri.renson@uaf.edu. Marmian Grimes, UAF public information officer, at 907-474-7902 or marmian.grimes@alaska.edu.


» Return to UAF News and Events